Can a South Asian Identity be Expressed through Music?

A webinar discussion exploring the rich musical traditions of the region.

We are pleased to invite you to join a pioneering discussion series on the theme:  “Can a South Asian identity be expressed through Music?”

From the majestic Himalayan peaks to the waters of the Indian Ocean, South Asia boasts of diverse landscapes. So too are the inhabitants of this region with their rich cultural heritage, distinct musical traditions and exceptional linguistic diversity. Permeating all aspects of life, music acts as a conduit that communicates a plethora of emotions, traditions, values and narratives of the lives of the people. From farmers of Sri Lanka who sing on their night watch to keep their crops safe from wild animals to boatmen in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh whose singing pierces placid rivers, to exuberant rhythms that infuse family gatherings with unparalleled energy, and the songs of the Afghan people, music in South Asia takes many forms and tells many stories as it accompanies the ebb and flow of more than a billion lives.

Although diverse in form and style, South Asian music is the creative expression of a people living in close proximity to each other. Music evolves with people and there are similarities as there are differences as genres influence each other. Collectively, South Asian music stands out on the global stage with its unique timbre, tempo and dynamics.

Ambassador Nirupama Menon Rao, a co-founder of the South Asian Symphony Foundation will lead this pioneering webinar. She will be joined by T. M. Krishna, Neil Nongkynrih, Ahmad Naser Sarmast, Ali Sethi and Ravibandhu Vidyapathi to discuss this thought-provoking topic.

The discussion will be held online on the 7th of December 2020 at
8.30 pm IST
7.30 pm AFT
10 am EST

It is open to everyone.